(less)

I always wanna go home
whether I’m in my childhood bedroom
or the dorm room I live in 9 months a year
I cry this
cradling myself
the springs in the mattress drilling my sides
thinking “just a lil bit longer”
always hoping
to be taken home

They say it’s the people,
where the heart is
but the heart is a muscle
and it isn’t until it’s injured that we know how much we use it

It wasn’t until I was heartbroken
that I realized how much I cared

home (less)
hope  (less)
heart (less)

-Laura Andrea

One thought on “(less)

Leave a Reply

